John Theodore RALPH AO

John Ralph was born in Broken Hill and educated there by the Sisters of Mercy and the Marist Brothers.

He retired as CEO of CRA Limited in 1994 and from the CRA Board in 1995. He is currently Chairman of Foster’s Brewing Group Limited; Chairman of Pacific Dunlop Limited; Deputy Chairman of the Commonwealth Bank of Australia; Deputy Chairman of Telstra Corporation Limited; a Director of BHP Limited and of Pioneer International Limited. He has received a number of awards relating to industry, and to management development and education.

He is also National Chairman of The Queen’s Trust for Young Australians; Chairman of the Australian Foundation for Science; a member of the Board of the Melbourne Business School and was President of the Business Council of Australia from 1992-1994.

Committee Members

Robert L. JOSS

Robert Joss joined Westpac Banking Corporation as Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer in February 1993. He resigned from this position on 28 February and will continue working in Westpac as a Senior Advisor.

Before joining Westpac, he was Vice Chairman at Wells Fargo Bank in San Francisco. He joined Wells Fargo in 1971 and was elected Vice Chairman in 1986.

Prior to 1971, Mr Joss served for three years in the U.S. Treasury Department in Washington, DC. He was a White House Fellow from 1968 to 1969 and then Deputy to the Assistant Secretary for Economic Policy for two years. When leaving Washington to take up his position at Wells Fargo, he was presented with the Treasury’s Meritorious Service Award.

Mr Joss holds a BA in Economics from the University of Washington as well as a MBA and PhD from Stanford University.

He is a Member of the Business School Advisory Councils of Stanford University and the Australian Graduate School of Management. He is a member of the International Monetary Conference, the Asian Pacific Bankers Club, the Business Council of Australia and the Committee for Sydney. He is also Chairman of the Australian Bankers’ Association and a Trustee of the National Parks & Wildlife Foundation of New South Wales.

Richard Hugh ALLERT AM, FCA

Richard Allert commenced his career as a Chartered Accountant in 1959 and joined Peat Marwick Mitchell & Co in 1960. He became an Associate Partner in 1969 and a Partner in 1973. He resigned as a Partner in 1979 to form a specialist insolvency practice, Allert Heard & Co. Allert Heard & Co was acquired by Arthur Andersen in 1989 and since that time Mr Allert has been a professional Company Director.

He is Chairman of Southcorp Limited, Deputy Chairman of National Mutual Holdings Limited, a Director of Coles Myer Ltd and FH Faulding & Co Limited, and Chairman of the Advisory Board of Ayers Rock Resort Management Pty Ltd.

Mr Allert is also Chairman of AustralAsia Railway Corporation and the National Wine Centre and a member of the Singapore Australia Business Alliance Forum.

He is a former Board member of the Northern Territory Development Corporation, Northern Territory Trade Development Zone, South Australian Oil & Gas Corporation, a former Commissioner of the South Australian Health Commission, and former Deputy Chairman of the South Australian Development Council.

He has been involved in a number of community and charitable organisations including the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award Scheme (SA), former National President of the National Heart Foundation of Australia, former Chairman Pembroke School Foundation and former Deputy Chairman of the Adelaide Football Club Ltd.